Monica Slavin MBBS, FRACP, MD

Head, Department of Infectious Disease Peter MacCallum Cancer Institute

Head, Immunocompromised Host Infection Service Royal Melbourne Hospital

Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Melbourne



Dear Colleagues,

We are looking forward to warmly welcoming you to Melbourne for the 21st ICHS Symposium on Infections in the Immunocompromised Host, 2020.  This will be the first time the meeting will be held in the Australian and Asia Pacific region. As president, I am excited to be able to introduce the ICHS, the premier international, multi-disciplinary forum for scientific and clinical interchange to improve understanding and management of the immunocompromised host, to the region.

On behalf of the ICHS council, it will be a great pleasure for us to warmly welcome you as clinicians and researchers to this unique international meeting in cosmopolitan and vibrant Melbourne, Australia. We hope to see you in 2020! 


Prof Monica Slavin, MBBS, FRACP, MD

President, International Immunocompromised Host Society 


"To advance the understanding of the interactions between host defense and microbial agents in order to improve prevention and management of human disease in patients with compromised immune function."

ICHS is the premier international, multidisciplinary forum for scientific and clinical interchange to improve understanding and management of the immunocompromised host.

Vice president


M Akova 2018.jpg


Professor of Medicine Infectious Diseases Department Hacettepe University School of Medicine Ankara, Turkey

TF Patterson.jpg

Thomas F. Patterson, MD, FACP, FIDSA

Professor of Medicine The University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio, Texas, USA

Past President

DP Kontoyiannis bio pict.jpg

Dimitrios P. Kontoyiannis, M.D., Sc.D., FACP, PhD (Hon), FIDSA, FECMM

Professor of Medicine and Director of the Mycology Research Program
Texas 4000 Distinguished Endowed Professor For Cancer Research
Deputy Head, Division of Internal Medicine, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas, USA

President Elect

Hirsch_Bio Pict.jpg

Hans Hellmuth Hirsch, MD, MSc

Professor, FMH Infectious Diseases, FMH Internal Medicine, FAMH Medical Microbiology University of Basel Basel, Switzerland

International Council

J M Aguado 2018.jpg

Jose M. Aguado, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine Universidad Complutense de Madrid
Head of Infectious Diseases Unit Hospital Universitario 12 de Octubre Madrid, Spain

Avery bio pict.jpg

Robin K. Avery MD, FIDSA

Professor of Medicine Division of Infectious Diseases at Johns Hopkins Baltimore, Maryland USA

M Bassetti 2018.jpg


Head of Infectious Diseases Santa Maria Misericordia University Hospital

Associate Professor of Infectious Diseases University of Udine Udine, Italy

R Chemaly 2018.jpg

Roy F. Chemaly, MD, MPH, FACP, FIDSA, CMQ

Professor of Medicine, Infectious Diseases The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Houston, Texas USA

Colombo bio pict.jpg

Arnaldo Lopes Colombo. MD

Professor of Medicine Division of Infectious Diseases of the Federal University of São Paulo
Head of the Special Mycology Laboratory of the Federal University of São Paulo São Paulo, Brazil

M G Ison 2018.jpg

Michael G. Ison, MD MS

Professor, Divisions of Infectious Diseases and Organ Transplantation Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Medical Director, Transplant & Immunocompromised Host Infectious Diseases Service Northwestern University Comprehensive Transplant Center Chicago, Illinois, USA

T Lehrnbecher 2018.jpg

Thomas Lehrnbecher, MD

Professor of Pediatrics

Pediatric Hematologist and Oncologist Johann Wolfgang Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany

S Pergam 2018.jpg

Steven A. Pergam, MD, MPH

Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
University of Washington
Associate Member in Clinical Research Division and Vaccine and Infectious Disease Division Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Seattle, Washington, USA

Ostrosky- Biosketch pict.jpg

Luis Ostrosky-Zeichner, M.D., FACP, FIDSA, FSHEA

Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology
Vice-Chair of Medicine for Healthcare Quality
Director of the Laboratory of Mycology Research Division of Infectious Diseases of the McGovern Medical School (formerly UTHealth) Houston, Texas USA